Scales / The picks
The best smart food scales, ranked on the app rather than the Bluetooth
A smart scale is a 1 g scale plus a database. So the ranking is the database: how many foods, how many nutrients, where the numbers go afterward, and whether the battery is a cable or a drawer of AAAs.
By Mike M.Updated Researched from maker spec pages
#adMeal & Macro earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. Prices are set by the retailer and change. A commission never decides a ranking. How we score · Disclosure
Top pick
Best Smart Scale

Etekcity Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale (ENS-L221S)
The ESN00's bigger sibling: 22 lb capacity, a stainless platform, a USB-C rechargeable battery, and an app auto-off you can stretch to five minutes.
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Etekcity Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale (ENS-L221S)
Quick picks
The picks at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Rubric score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Etekcity Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale (ENS-L221S) 1 g · 22 lb · USB-C The ESN00's bigger sibling: 22 lb capacity, a stainless platform, a USB-C rechargeable battery, and an app auto-off you can stretch to five minutes. Same 1 g graduation, same Nutritionix database with 19 nutrition facts. | Best smart scale | 9.7 /10 | $33.99Etekcity Luminary |
| 2 | ![]() COSORI NutriLens Smart Nutrition Scale 1 g · 5 kg · USB-C COSORI's scale on the same VeSync app as Etekcity: 3 g to 5,000 g in 1 g steps, seven units, a 1M+ food database with 19 nutrients, USB-C charging and a 2-year warranty. The app does daily, weekly and monthly macro totals. | Best app reports | 9.4 /10 | $39.98COSORI NutriLens |
| 3 | ![]() Etekcity ESN00 Smart Nutrition Scale 1 g · 11 lb · VeSync app The cheapest way into app-tracked macros: 1 g graduation to 11 lb, a full-width platform, AAA batteries, and the VeSync app with the Nutritionix database (about a million foods) that syncs to Apple Health and Fitbit. | Best value smart scale | 9.5 /10 | $39.99Etekcity ESN00 |
| 4 | ![]() RENPHO Calibra+ Smart Nutrition Scale 1 g · 5 kg · 25 nutrients The only scale here that shows the macros on its own screen and syncs them: a 4.3-inch display reads calories, protein, fat and carbs as you weigh, 100 foods live on the scale for when your phone isn't out, and the app adds 800,000-plus USDA foods and 25 nutrition facts. | Most nutrients | 9.5 /10 | $54.99RENPHO Calibra+ |
| 5 | ![]() Greater Goods Nutrition Facts Food Scale (sold with the AccuCheck scale) 1 g · 11 lb · on-scale database Not Bluetooth — 2,000 foods coded into the scale, macros on its own screen, an app only for looking up codes. Ranked here as the no-phone alternative. | Smart without a phone | 9.1 /10 | $56.85Greater Goods |
#ad · Prices come live from Amazon, last checked November 5, 2026. Order is the author's pick for this page's buyer; the score is the rubric's judgment of the product against its whole category, from the maker's page (or the retailer's, where labeled) — the two can disagree, and the write-up says why. Product photos come from each product's Amazon listing; any photo that is illustrative stock is labeled as such. Tap a row for the full write-up.

What "smart" actually buys you
Three things, and only the first is guaranteed. A lookup: put chicken on the scale, pick "chicken breast, cooked" in the app, and the grams become calories, protein, carbs and fat without typing. A log: the app keeps the day's totals. And, sometimes, a handoff: the totals go to Apple Health, Fitbit or wherever else you track. The scale hardware underneath is the same 1 g, 5-to-10 kg strain gauge as a plain scale; the premium is the software and the subscription the maker runs to keep the database current.
What smart doesn't buy you is accuracy. Every scale here is 1 g. If the appeal is precision, buy the plain OXO on the overall ranking and keep your phone in your pocket.
The databases, side by side
| Scale | App | Database (maker's figure) | Nutrients reported | Power | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Etekcity Luminary | VeSync | Nutritionix | 19 | USB-C, 300 mAh | 2 years |
| COSORI NutriLens | VeSync | "1M+ food database" | 19 | USB-C | 2 years |
| Etekcity ESN00 | VeSync | Nutritionix, "about 1 million food data" | Not stated on page | 3 × AAA | 2 years |
| RENPHO Calibra+ | On the scale + RENPHO Health | "800,000+ USDA foods" | 25 | USB-C | Not stated on the listing |
| Greater Goods Nutrition | Food Code (lookup only) | 2,000 on the scale + 99 custom | Macros on screen | 3 × AAA | Limited, on registration |
As published on the makers' pages linked in Sources. A blank is a figure the page doesn't print, not a zero.
Where the numbers go
Only the ESN00's page states a third-party handoff: "connects to free VeSync app, Apple Health and Fitbit". The Luminary and NutriLens run the same VeSync app, and it is reasonable to expect the same connections, but their pages don't print it and we don't claim it. RENPHO's Calibra+ listing states Apple Health sync too. Greater Goods has nothing to sync. If landing your totals in Apple Health is the point, the ESN00 and the Calibra+ are the two with the claim in writing.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 01

Best smart scale
Etekcity Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale (ENS-L221S)
The ESN00's bigger sibling: 22 lb capacity, a stainless platform, a USB-C rechargeable battery, and an app auto-off you can stretch to five minutes. Same 1 g graduation, same Nutritionix database with 19 nutrition facts.
EvidenceResearched · maker-sourced
The rubric behind the 9.7
Criterion marks are the rubric assessment on its own 0–10 scale. The published score is that weighted result on our 8.4–9.8 recommendation scale — how we score.
- Resolution & capacity (25%)
- 8
- Nutrition database / app sync (25%)
- 9
- Tare & unit handling (15%)
- 8
- Platform size & readability (15%)
- 9
- Battery / charging (10%)
- 9
- Value (10%)
- 7
Why we recommend it
- 22 lb capacity means a full mixing bowl of chicken tares out fine
- USB-C charging; no battery drawer
- Auto-off adjustable to 5 minutes for long portioning sessions
Good to know
- Still 1 g graduation
- Thicker than the ESN00 at 1.1 in
- Apple Health / MyFitnessPal export isn't stated on this model's page
Choose a different pick if…
…you never weigh more than a plate — the ESN00 does the same job at 11 lb for less.
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Etekcity Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale (ENS-L221S)
Rank 02

Best app reports
COSORI NutriLens Smart Nutrition Scale
COSORI's scale on the same VeSync app as Etekcity: 3 g to 5,000 g in 1 g steps, seven units, a 1M+ food database with 19 nutrients, USB-C charging and a 2-year warranty. The app does daily, weekly and monthly macro totals.
EvidenceResearched · maker-sourced
The rubric behind the 9.4
Criterion marks are the rubric assessment on its own 0–10 scale. The published score is that weighted result on our 8.4–9.8 recommendation scale — how we score.
- Resolution & capacity (25%)
- 7
- Nutrition database / app sync (25%)
- 9
- Tare & unit handling (15%)
- 6
- Platform size & readability (15%)
- 7
- Battery / charging (10%)
- 9
- Value (10%)
- 8
Why we recommend it
- Day / week / month macro reporting in the app
- USB-C rechargeable
- 2-year warranty
Good to know
- 3 g minimum weight — it won't read a single-gram pinch
- Platform dimensions and tare aren't published on the page
- 1 g graduation like the rest
Choose a different pick if…
…you weigh sub-3-gram amounts — the stated minimum is 3 g.
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to COSORI NutriLens Smart Nutrition Scale
Rank 03

Best value smart scale
Etekcity ESN00 Smart Nutrition Scale
The cheapest way into app-tracked macros: 1 g graduation to 11 lb, a full-width platform, AAA batteries, and the VeSync app with the Nutritionix database (about a million foods) that syncs to Apple Health and Fitbit.
EvidenceResearched · maker-sourced
The rubric behind the 9.5
Criterion marks are the rubric assessment on its own 0–10 scale. The published score is that weighted result on our 8.4–9.8 recommendation scale — how we score.
- Resolution & capacity (25%)
- 7
- Nutrition database / app sync (25%)
- 9
- Tare & unit handling (15%)
- 8
- Platform size & readability (15%)
- 8
- Battery / charging (10%)
- 5
- Value (10%)
- 10
Why we recommend it
- A million-food database and Apple Health sync at a basic-scale price
- 9.2 × 6.3 in platform fits a dinner plate
- 2-year warranty
Good to know
- 1 g graduation, not 0.1 g — fine for chicken, coarse for creatine
- AAA batteries, not rechargeable
- 120-second auto-off is short when you're portioning five containers
Choose a different pick if…
…you weigh supplements or oils in single-digit grams — you want 0.1 g graduation, which this doesn't have.
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Etekcity ESN00 Smart Nutrition Scale
Rank 04

Most nutrients
RENPHO Calibra+ Smart Nutrition Scale
The only scale here that shows the macros on its own screen and syncs them: a 4.3-inch display reads calories, protein, fat and carbs as you weigh, 100 foods live on the scale for when your phone isn't out, and the app adds 800,000-plus USDA foods and 25 nutrition facts.
EvidenceResearched · maker-sourced
The rubric behind the 9.5
Criterion marks are the rubric assessment on its own 0–10 scale. The published score is that weighted result on our 8.4–9.8 recommendation scale — how we score.
- Resolution & capacity (25%)
- 7
- Nutrition database / app sync (25%)
- 9
- Tare & unit handling (15%)
- 7
- Platform size & readability (15%)
- 9
- Battery / charging (10%)
- 9
- Value (10%)
- 6
Why we recommend it
- Macros on the scale's own screen AND in an app — the only pick here that does both
- 100 presets stored on the scale, so a weigh-in doesn't need your phone
- Apple Health sync and three user profiles
Good to know
- The most expensive scale on this page
- 1 g graduation, like every other scale here
- No MyFitnessPal export stated — Apple Health is the only named sync
Choose a different pick if…
…you live in MyFitnessPal — this app states Apple Health, not MFP.
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to RENPHO Calibra+ Smart Nutrition Scale
Rank 05

Smart without a phone
Greater Goods Nutrition Facts Food Scale (sold with the AccuCheck scale)
Not Bluetooth — 2,000 foods coded into the scale, macros on its own screen, an app only for looking up codes. Ranked here as the no-phone alternative.
EvidenceResearched · maker-sourced
The rubric behind the 9.1
Criterion marks are the rubric assessment on its own 0–10 scale. The published score is that weighted result on our 8.4–9.8 recommendation scale — how we score.
- Resolution & capacity (25%)
- 7
- Nutrition database / app sync (25%)
- 6
- Tare & unit handling (15%)
- 8
- Platform size & readability (15%)
- 8
- Battery / charging (10%)
- 5
- Value (10%)
- 6
Why we recommend it
- Macros on the scale's own screen — no Bluetooth, no phone on the counter
- Glass platform wipes clean
- Four sensors and auto-calibration
Good to know
- Amazon sells it only bundled with a bathroom scale, so you pay for two scales
- 2,000 foods is a fraction of a million-food app database
- Typing a food code is slower than scanning in an app
Choose a different pick if…
…you want your weigh-ins to land in a tracking app automatically — this scale keeps them on its screen.
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Greater Goods Nutrition Facts Food Scale (sold with the AccuCheck scale)
Buyer's guide: two app families
VeSync (Etekcity, COSORI): one app for all three, one account, one database. If you already own a VeSync air fryer or scale, the food scale lands in the same app. RENPHO Health (RENPHO): the app that also runs RENPHO's body scales, with the deepest per-food breakdown — vitamins and minerals — Apple Health sync, and the only scale here that shows the macros on its own screen. Pick the family that already has your other data.
The head-to-heads within the families: Etekcity vs COSORI and across them, Etekcity vs RENPHO.
How Meal & Macro picks gear
Researched, compared and scored
Every pick starts with the maker's own product page and manual: the lid, material and care ratings in its exact wording ("leak-proof", "oven safe to 450°F", "top-rack only"), the container-fit and ice-pack arithmetic worked out from published dimensions and the USDA's numbers, and a score on a public rubric for the category that weights the seal, the material and the fit first. Models are compared side by side, so each page lands on one clear pick per use case with the reason stated. Every figure links to where it came from; where the maker's page would not load we cite a retailer and say so.
Scores are editorial judgments built from that documented research. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubrics and their weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Do smart food scales work without the app?
Yes — they weigh and tare like any scale. The app is where the grams become macros.
Which smart food scale syncs with MyFitnessPal?
None of the maker pages we read states MyFitnessPal. The Etekcity ESN00's page states Apple Health and Fitbit; that is the only stated third-party sync here.
Is the COSORI scale the same as the Etekcity?
They share the VeSync app and a Nutritionix-backed database. The hardware differs: COSORI states a 3 g minimum and USB-C; the Luminary states 22 lb and USB-C; the ESN00 states 11 lb and AAAs.
Our recommendation
Where we would put the money
If you read nothing else on this page: this is the pick, and this is the one to buy instead if it does not fit your kitchen.
Top pick · Best Smart Scale
Etekcity Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale (ENS-L221S)
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to Etekcity Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale (ENS-L221S)
Runner-up
COSORI NutriLens Smart Nutrition Scale
#ad · Price as of November 5, 2026 · Disclosure for the link to COSORI NutriLens Smart Nutrition Scale
Scores are our rubric's, published in full on how we score. Prices are Amazon's and change without notice.
Keep reading
Related on Meal & Macro
- Best food scale for macrosSmart and plain scales together.
- Etekcity vs COSORITwo scales, one app.
- Etekcity vs RENPHOA phone app against a screen on the scale.
- Etekcity vs Greater GoodsA million-food app database against 2,000 foods coded into the scale.
- How to use a food scale for macrosThe Sunday method.
- Best food scales under $20The tier below, for people who already log in an app.
- Best food scales with a nutritional calculatorThe same field, ranked on where the calculator lives.
- Smart food scale vs regular food scaleWhether the app is worth buying at all, before you pick one.
Receipts
Sources
- Etekcity — ENS-L221S-SUS Luminary Smart Nutrition Scale page (capacity, graduation, units, platform, USB-C battery, VeSync + Nutritionix, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- COSORI — NutriLens Smart Kitchen Scale page (3 g–5,000 g in 1 g, 7 units, 1M+ food database, VeSync, 2-year warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Etekcity — ESN00 Smart Nutrition Scale page (capacity, graduation, units, platform, batteries, VeSync + Nutritionix, sync, warranty) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Amazon listing — RENPHO Calibra+ rechargeable smart food scale, model R-MSK03 (5 kg in 1 g increments, five units, tare, 4.3-inch TFT screen showing calories, protein, fat and carbohydrate, 100 food presets stored on the scale, 800,000+ USDA foods and 25 nutrition facts in the RENPHO Health app, Apple Health sync, up to three users, USB-C battery rated 60 days, stainless platform; retailer listing, labeled) (checked 2026-10-04)
- Greater Goods — Nutrition Food Scale (backlit) page (11 lb, 1 g, 2,000 ingredients, glass platform, AAA batteries) (checked 2026-09-21)
- Amazon listing — Greater Goods Nutrition Facts Food Scale and AccuCheck scale bundle (the nutrition scale's 2,000-plus pre-programmed foods with custom entries, readings down to the gram, smooth wipe-clean surface and touch-sensitive buttons, sold bundled with the brand's AccuCheck bathroom scale; retailer listing, labeled) (checked 2026-10-04)
Materials, capacities, seals and care ratings come from the maker's own product pages and manuals (linked on every product) or, where the maker's page would not load, from a retailer listing we label as such. Food-safety numbers are quoted from the USDA and FDA pages linked above. Where a figure isn't published we say so. Amazon sets the prices and changes them often, so the button on every pick checks today's. Read the full method.